Literacy Champions

The UVU Forum on Engaged Reading supports innovative strategies, methods, programs and individuals who demonstrate instilling a life-long love of reading in young people. The Engaged Reading Literacy Champion award is not given on a yearly or regular basis, but only as the Forum discovers or recognizes an individual who has demonstrated exceptional merit or a widespread impact on children’s or young adult literacy. This impact will have been apparent over a career that has been dedicated to literacy by helping to make cities, libraries, schools or homes better places because of the awardee’s understanding of how a love of reading affects children and society.


  • Deanie Wimmer


  • Nancy Livingston


  • Carla Morris


  • Marilyn Kofford